Depression Grand Challenge Team

The Team

Executive Team

Nelson Freimer, MD

Maggie G. Gilbert Professor of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Director, UCLA Center for Neurobehavioral Genetics
Director, Depression Grand Challenge
Associate Director, UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior

Jonathan Flint, MD

Professor-in-Residence, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine
Senior Scientist, Center for Neurobehavioral Genetics, UCLA Semel Institute for Neuroscience and Human Behavior

Michelle Craske, PhD

Vice Chair, Department of Psychology
Professor, Psychology
Professor, Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Director, Anxiety and Depression Research Center at UCLA

Larry Zipursky, PhD

Distinguished Professor, Biological Chemistry
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Leadership Council

External Members

Garen Staglin – co-Chair

Mental health advocate and philanthropist, Co-Founder and Board Chairman of One Mind

Campus Members

Gene Block – co-Chair


Barry Berkett

Executive Vice President of Thrifty Oil Co.

Kelsey Martin

Dean, UCLA David Geffen School of Medicine

Niccolo de Masi

President, Products & Solutions, Chief Innovation Officer & Board Director at Resideo

John Mazziotta

Vice Chancellor for Health Sciences

Laurie Gordon

Philanthropist, Chair, UCLA Resnick Neuropsychiatric Hospital Board of Advisors

Victoria Sork

Dean, Life Sciences Division, College of Letters and Science

Gail Kamer Lieberfarb

Director, Didi Hirsch Mental Health Services

Roger Wakimoto

Vice Chancellor for Research

Stewart Resnick

Philanthropist, Trustee of Resnick Family Foundation,
Chair & President of The Wonderful Company

Robina Riccitiello

Philanthropist, San Francisco Journalist & Storyteller for One Million Person Project

Shari Staglin

Co-Founder One Mind, CEO Staglin Family Vineyard

Sandor Valner

Managing Principal, Valner Ventures

Science Advisory Board

The Science Advisory Board, composed of external partners, will review the quality and relevance of proposed scientific and technical approaches. The Board will serve as an advisory resource for the Executive Committee, and there will be annual reviews with the Board regarding direction, content and quality.

David Anderson, PhD

California Institute of Technology
Link to external bio

Steve Hyman, M.D.

Harvard University and Broad Institute
Former Director of the National Institute of Mental Health
Link to external bio

Nancy Cox, PhD

Vanderbilt University
Professor, Medicine
Link to external bio

Rob Malenka, M.D. PhD

Stanford University
Link to external bio

Christopher Fairburn, M.D.

Oxford University
Link to external bio

Huda Zoghbi, M.D.

Baylor College of Medicine
Link to external bio

SUFFERING FROM DEPRESSION?  Help is here for you.