Meet our team

Eric Hoek

Director, Sustainable LA Grand Challenge

Lauren Miura

Communications and PR Manager

Rebecca Sauer

Program Administrator

Casandra Rauser

Executive Director, Sustainable LA Grand Challenge

Duane Muller

Assistant Director, Government Liaison for Environment and Sustainability

Elizabeth Reid-Wainscoat

Senior Research and Policy Analyst

Steering Committee

J.R. DeShazo
Public Policy; Luskin School of Public Affairs; Luskin Center for Innovation

Bruce Dunn
Materials Science and Engineering; Samueli School of Engineering

Kian Goh
Urban Planning; Luskin School of Public Affairs

Alex Hall
Atmospheric and Oceanic Sciences; Physical Sciences and Institute of the Environment and Sustainability; Center for Climate Science

Cara Horowitz
Emmett Institute on Climate Change and the Environment; School of Law

Brad Shaffer
Ecology and Evolutionary Biology; Life Sciences and Institute of the Environment and Sustainability; La Kretz Center for California Conservation Science

V. Kelly Turner
Urban Planning; Luskin School of Public Affairs

Yifang Zhu
Environmental Health Sciences; Fielding School of Public Health

Ex-officio Members

Michelle Popowitz
Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research and Executive Director of UCLA Grand Challenges; Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

Casandra Rauser
Executive Director, Sustainable LA Grand Challenge

L.A. Sustainability Leadership Council

UCLA Chancellor Gene Block co-chairs the council with Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti to drive forward the goals of the Sustainable LA Grand Challenge, the Sustainable City pLAn, and other regional efforts.


Gene Block
Chancellor, UCLA

Eric Garcetti
Mayor, City of Los Angeles


Martin Adams
General Manager, Los Angeles Department of Water and Power

Hali Borenstein
CEO, Reformation

Lori Bettison-Varga
Executive Director, L.A. County Museum of Natural History

Michael Burke
Chairman and CEO, AECOM

Kevin de León
Former President pro Tempore, California State Senate

Michael Dubin
CEO, Dollar Shave Club

Lauren Faber O’Connor
Chief Sustainability Officer, City of Los Angeles

Mark Gold
Deputy Secretary for Oceans and Coastal Policy and Director of the Ocean Protection Council, California Natural Resources Agency

Dianne Harrison
President, California State University, Northridge

Antonia Hernandez
President and CEO, California Community Foundation

Richard Katz
Former California State Assemblymember

Jeffrey Kightlinger
General Manager, Metropolitan Water District

John Kilroy
CEO, Kilroy Realty

Jena King
Co-founder, Jena & Michael King Foundation

Sheila Kuehl
Supervisor for the Third District of Los Angeles County

Lyn Lear
Co-founder, Environmental Media Association

Mary Leslie
President, Los Angeles Business Council

Felicia Marcus
Former Chair, State Water Resources Control Board

Kelly Meyer
Board member, NRDC

Amber Miller
Dean, USC Dornsife College of Letters, Arts and Sciences

Jennifer Mnookin
Dean, School of Law, UCLA

Jayathi Murthy
Dean, Samueli School of Engineering, UCLA

Marc Nathanson
Chairman, Falcon Waterfree Technologies

Mary Nichols
Chair, California Air Resources Board

Manuel Pastor
Distinguished Professor and Director, USC Equity Research Institute

Kevin Payne
President and CEO, Southern California Edison

Tom Penn
President and Co-owner, Los Angeles Football Club

Jonas Peters
Bren Professor of Chemistry and Director, Resnick Sustainability Institute – Caltech

Matt Petersen
CEO and President, Los Angeles Cleantech Incubator

Tony Pritzker
Managing Partner and Co-founder,
The Pritzker Group

Anthony Rendon
Speaker of the California State Assembly

Tara Roth
President, Goldhirsh Foundation

Laura Shell
Chair, California Advisory Board, Trust for Public Land

Hilda Solis
Supervisor for the First District of Los Angeles County

Victoria Sork
Dean, Division of Life Sciences, UCLA

Terry Tamminen
President, 7th Generation Advisors

Patricia Turner
Senior Dean, College of Letters and Sciences, UCLA

Roger Wakimoto
Vice Chancellor for Research, UCLA

Phillip Washington
CEO, Los Angeles County Metropolitan Transportation Authority

Steve Westly
Managing Partner, The Westly Group